Sno-Isle Libraries Foundation Announces Five New Board Members


The Sno-Isle Libraries Foundation, the philanthropic arm of Sno-Isle Libraries, has named five new members from Snohomish and Island counties.

Guided by a board of trustees, the foundation helps expand the reach of the library district by supporting library programs, services and events, funding demonstration libraries in communities with limited library service and investing in capital improvements throughout the library district.

The new board members are:

Colin J. McMahon, a public defender who remains active in the community as a caucus delegate, committee member and activist. He is also a member of the Mental Health Advisory Council for Disability Rights Washington, the Snohomish County Bar Association Board of Directors, and the Snohomish County Democrats Central Committee. McMahon is a resident of Lynnwood.

Sami Postma, who has worked closely with the Whidbey Island community since arriving in the area ten years ago. She has experience in business mentoring, marketing and event planning through her work at the Island County Economic Development Board, the Goosefoot Community Fund and her own design and marketing firm. website. Postma is a resident of Freeland.

Rim Benoud-Schmitz, Amazon’s senior technical program manager just get out technological organization. Previously a Senior Program Manager at Boeing, she served as Chapter President of the Boeing Employees Community Fund and has also served as a community volunteer with the United Way of Snohomish County. Benoud-Schmitz is a resident of Edmonds.

Jeanne Thorson, former executive director of the King County Library System Foundation. She has a career spanning over 40 years in public libraries and advocates for early literacy, access to information and lifelong learning. Thorsen is a resident of Edmonds.

Ryan Willis, who was born and raised in Snohomish County and has supported numerous non-profit organizations as a lifelong community volunteer. He has a background in sales and marketing and is currently a personal banker at Coastal Community Bank. Willis is an Arlington resident.

These five new members join Board Chairman Luke Distelhorst, Board Vice-Chairman Jackie DeFazio and Mary Anderson, Heather Croteau, Debamitra Dutta, Sonia Siegel Vexler and Rose Olson as members of the Sno-Isle Board of Directors. Libraries Foundation. Board members serve three-year terms and can serve up to two consecutive terms.

Find out how you can get involved or support the foundation at


Comments are closed.