City Council and School Board Candidates Report Fundraiser for Final Quarter | Elections


Fundraising reports filed last week with the Missouri Ethics Commission revealed which candidates led their respective elections in campaign donations.

mayor’s race

Among the candidates for mayor of the city of Columbia, the fundraising of Barbara Buffaloe and Randall Minchew far exceeded that of her competitors.

Buffaloe’s campaign, according to its January quarterly filing with the MEC, raised the most money with $25,395.42. This more than doubles the $12,525.00 raised by the Minchew campaign. The majority of Buffaloe’s funds came from over 100 individual donors.

Filings indicate that much of the money raised by Minchew came from a single $10,000 donation from Gregory Deline, a Boone County businessman. The campaign also reported that $6,299.00 of its funds was spent on advertising.

The other mayoral candidates are David Seamon, Maria Oropallo and Tanya Heath.

Seamon’s report indicates that $5,395.01 was raised in the last period. The majority of campaign donations came from individual donations, totaling $3,575.05. Another $1,819.96 came from non-monetary in-kind donations.

Oropallo brought in $3,540.17 raised in the last quarter. His report also says the campaign spent $1,596.61 on web design, photography and printing.

Heath’s report said the campaign had not yet received or spent more than $500, the state’s reporting threshold. Heath also named herself her campaign treasurer.

Board Seats

The seats for the third and fourth wards of the Columbia City Council are also up for election.

Fourth Ward open seat contender Erica Pefferman raised $5,650, more than $800 more than her opponent John “Nick” Foster, Jr.

The Pefferman campaign’s quarterly filing said all of his donations were cash receipts from 10 donors.

Foster’s campaign received $4,861.26 during the same period, including $99.99 from in-kind donations and the remainder from individual contributions from 12 donors.

The third quarter race is between incumbent Karl Skala and Roy Lovelady; the two have yet to file documentation with the MEC on Monday.

Black board

The terms of two school board members, Dr. Della Streaty-Wilhoit, vice-chair, and Blake Willoughby, will expire in April. Willoughby is seeking re-election.

Suzette Waters, Andrea Lisenby and Adam Matthew Burks are the new school board nominees. Only three campaigns filed with the MEC as of Saturday.

Incumbent Blake Willoughby’s campaign was the only one to bring in more than $500 in revenue. Suzette Waters and Adam Matthew Burks were the only two other currently active campaigns with the MEC. The Willoughby campaign report said $1,570 was received in the last quarter from 18 donors.

The Waters campaign has brought in $500 in cash receipts so far, from just one campaign loan by Waters.

Burks’ committee was established on Jan. 6, according to a committee organizing statement provided to the MEC on Jan. 18. As a newly formed committee, the Burks campaign had no revenue to report for the previous quarter.

On Monday, neither Lisenby nor an advocacy committee filed anything on his behalf with the MEC.


Comments are closed.